Taj Mahal – One of the Seven Wonders of the World

Taj-Mahal2The Taj Mahal is now known as one of the Seven Wonders of the World. It was built in 1631 by Mughal Emperor Shah Jahan. He built it in memory of his favorite wife, Mumtaz Mahal.

The Taj Mahal or the Taj is considered the finest example of Mughal architecture, a style that combines elements from Indian, Islamic and Persian architectural styles. It became a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1983 and was also cited as “the jewel of Muslim art in India and one of the universally admired masterpieces of the world’s heritage.”


Year of Construction- 1631-1653
Location- Agra, India
Built By- Mughal Emperor Shah Jahan
Spread Over- 42 acres

While watching the Taj Mahal of Agra, the thoughts that come into the mind is its phenomenal beauty and also the immense love which was the reason behind its construction. Mughal Emperor Shah Jahan constructed it in the memory of his beloved wife Mumtaz Mahal, with whom he fell in love at the first sight. Therefore, it is called as “the epitome of love”.

The Taj’s main tomb of is square with chamfered corners. The minarets is facing the chamfered angles of the main tomb on the main plinth. Mehman-Khana on the eastern side and Red sandstone mosque on the western side of the tomb provides a clear colour contrast.

The Taj has some wonderful specimens of art both in the exterior and interior on the dados, on the marble andon cenotaphs jali-screen around them.

Entrance Fee:

Rs. 10/- Per head on visitors of SAARC (Nepal, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Maldives and Afghanistan), Citizens of India and BIMSTEC Countries (Nepal, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Thailand, Sri Lanka and Myanmar)

Rs. 250/- per head (ASI);
Rs. 500/- ticket of ADA is valid for the monuments of Agra Fort, Akbar’s Tomb, Itimadi-ud-daula, Fatehpur Sikri and Sikandara
Rs. 500/- per head as Toll Tax (Agra Development Authority)
(children up to 15 years free)

I am sure you would like to visit The Taj Mahal of India.

No Response to “Taj Mahal – One of the Seven Wonders of the World” »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment